ICO和众筹:谁是谁?
你还记得2001年发布的一款名为Ico的Playstation 2游戏吗? 那么,如果没有,让我们谈谈另一个ICO——首次代币发行ICO是什么,众筹和IPO,他们有什么不一样,ICO市场有什么历史和前途? 今天The Coin Shark将看看这个问题。 内容:
  1. ICO是什么?
  2. 众筹是什么?
  3. ICO和众筹有什么区别?
  4. ICO活动的历史
  5. ICO和IPO
  6. 未来ICO会发生什么?

1。ICO是什么?

首次代币发行是一种投资吸引形式。比如一家公司发行数字令牌并提供用户购买它们以换取和令牌一起提供的某种服务,或者换取令牌兑换率的未来增长。 在ICO期间,收集的资金用于开发或采用项目,并且通常在项目的技术文档(白皮书)中提及它们的分发。

2。众筹是什么?

众筹是吸引集体投资的典范。它似乎比最首次代币发行早得多。事实上,自古以来,就已经知道从公众筹集资金来实施特定的重大项目。这种融资的想法是基于参与项目的权力下放,结合许多人的努力以达到共同需要的结果。例如,想象一下,某个非政府组织想要建造一个动物收容所。为了获得足够的资金,项目经理可以寻找大型投资者,或者如果有适当的机制,可以利用众筹。它将使项目能够接收大量人员的捐款(甚至是小额捐款),所吸引的资金总额将足以实施该项目。关键的问题是这些机制的可用性,甚至是它们的存在。老实说,收集成千上万甚至数百万想要支持特定项目的人的捐款相当困难。这就是众筹今天与万维网息息相关的原因,它确实有助于至少在数字领域把人们聚集在一起,并提供有效的机制来轻松筹集来自世界各地的资金。

3。ICO和众筹有什么区别?

虽然ICO和众筹常被用作同义词,但我们可以说众筹基本上是一个更广泛的术语,而ICO可以被视为一种特定类型的众筹。 但是,首次代币发行提供这种资金的不同机制,因为它使用区块链技术——分布式数据库,其中关于交易的信息被记录在连接块的分类账中。 ICO也是基于项目数字代币 或加密货币的问题。 ICO活动的目标是提供更高效,快速和安全的工具,以便从全球任何类型的投资者筹集资金。

4。ICO活动的历史

2013年,第一个ICO由名为Mastercoin的项目(今天称为Omni)举办。开发者设法收集了约500万美元。2016年是ICO活动的高峰期,特别是2017年。随着这些年的加密繁荣,ICO的繁荣主要受到以前以太坊最首次代币发行的启发。当这个区块链平台出现时,推出分散的区块链应用变得更加容易。此外,决定举办ICO的项目已经能够使用智能合约。很快出现了特殊的平台(以太坊、Waves、NEM、NXT等),用户可以发布他们的数字代币并运行他们的ICO活动。 2017年夏天,EOS项目在ICO活动的头几天募集了1.85亿美元。 2018年,我们一直在观察ICO市场的变化。大部分项目没有达到他们的硬限额(开发商计划收集的最大投资额),用户开始显示较少的活动,许多公司开始瞄准大型投资者。

5。ICO和IPO

IPO是首次公开发行股票,由股份公司进入股市时进行。事实上,ICO就是它的数字模拟。 ICO不使用股票,因为它们的问题和流通受到国家的严格管制。所以,不是股票,而是有相当不受监管的易于启动的虚拟代币和货币。像股东一样,令牌持有者拥有某些权利。在这一点上,美国证券交易委员会在其规范加密货币市场和ICO的斗争中采用了一些条款,指出如果代币确认了接受商品或服务的权利(类似于普通折扣券的实用代币),那么它们不受制于到股市的规定。然而,如果代币提供了参与公司利润分配的权利或者可以在加密货币交易所进行交易以获取利润,美国证券交易委员会将它们视为证券,因此适用国家对股票市场的监管。 ICO使用类似于IPO的工具,但使用区块链技术,该技术可以使此过程更易于访问,开放和安全。但是,实际缺乏监管会增加欺诈风险。

6。未来ICO会发生什么?

今天,一个成功的ICO需要在开发,市场营销和广告,法律支持等方面进行大量投资。当ICO活动头几年的加密过程通过后,这些公司开始怀疑他们是否真的需要ICO来吸引投资。其中一个值得注意的例子就是Telegram的一个轰动的“ICO”。事实上,使用中性术语“tokensale”可能会更好,因为这实际上并不是一个经典的ICO。出售代币是私人的,一般公众没有机会加入。电报旨在收集大型投资者的大笔投资。 无论如何,ICO市场与2016-2017年的情况不一样。显然,它会继续改变。不会有数百个不同的项目持有他们最初的硬币产品,ICO活动将变得更加规范,公司将尝试在法律框架和集体投资机制方面推进他们的活动,使其真正透明。一般市场可能会减少规模并变得更专业。 订阅 The Coin Shark 的消息:https://www.facebook.com/thecoinsharkCH/

ICO And Crowdfunding: Who’s Who

hands, coin

Do you remember a game for Playstation 2 called Ico, released in 2001? Well, if not, lets talk about another ICO – Initial coin offering. What is ICO, crowdfunding and IPO, how are they different, what is the history of the ICO market and its prospects? Today The Coin Shark will take a look at this issue.

Content:

  1. What is ICO?
  2. What is crowdfunding?
  3. What is the difference between ICO and crowdfunding?
  4. History of ICO campaigns
  5. ICO and IPO
  6. What can happen to ICOs in the future?

1. What is ICO?

Initial coin offering is a form of investment attraction, when a company issues digital tokens and offers users to purchase them in exchange for a certain service that is provided with this token, or in exchange for future growth of token exchange rate. Funds collected during the ICO are used to develop or launch a project, and their distribution, as a rule, is mentioned in the technical documentation of the project – white paper.

2. What is crowdfunding?

Crowdfunding is a model of attracting collective investments. It appeared much earlier than initial coin offerings. In fact raising money from the public for an implementation of a particular significant project has been known since ancient times. The very idea of ​​such financing is based on decentralization of participation in the project, combining efforts of many people to achieve the commonly needed result. Just imagine, for example, that a certain non-governmental organization wants to build an animal shelter. To get enough money, project managers can look for large investors or, if appropriate mechanisms are available, take the advantage of crowdfunding. It will enable the project to receive contributions (let it be even small ones) from a large number of people and the total amount of attracted funds will be enough to implement the project. The key issue here is the availability of these mechanisms or even their existence. In fact, it is rather difficult to collect contributions from thousands or even millions of those who want to back a particular project. That’s why crowdfunding is today closely associated with the World Wide Web, that indeed helps bring people together at least in a digital space and provides effective mechanism to easily raise funds from all over the world.

3. What is the difference between ICO and crowdfunding?

Although ICO and crowdfunding are quite often used as synonyms, we can say that crowdfunding is basically a more broad term and ICO can be considered a specific type of crowdfunding. Initial coin offering, however, provides different mechanism for such a funding, as it operates on the blockchain technology – a distributed database, where the information about transactions is recorded in ledger of connected blocks. ICO is also based on the issue of project`s digital tokens or cryptocurrency. ICO-campaigns aim to provide more efficient, fast and secure tools to raise money from any kind of investors all over the world.

4. History of ICO campaigns

The very first ICO was held by the project called Mastercoin (today known as Omni) back in 2013. The developers managed to collect about 5 million US dollars. The peak of ICO campaigns was in 2016 and especially in 2017. As the crypto-boom of those years, the ICO-boom was largely inspired by the previous initial coin offering of Ethereum. When this blockchain platform appeared it became easier to launch decentralized blockchain-based applications. Moreover, projects that decided to hold ICOs were already able to use smart contracts. Soon special platforms (Ethereum, Waves, NEM, NXT. etc.) appeared, where users could issue their digital tokens and run their ICO campaigns. In summer, 2017, the project called EOS raised $185 million US dollars in the first few days of its ICO campaign.

In 2018, we have been observing changes on the ICO market. Most of the projects did not manage to reach their hard cap (maximum amount of investment that the developers plan to collect), users began to show less activity, and many companies started targeting large investors.

5. ICO and IPO

IPO is an initial public offering of shares, carried out by stock companies when they enter equity market. ICO is, in fact, its digital analogue. ICO does not use shares, as their issue and circulation is strictly regulated by the state. So, instead of shares there are fairly unregulated and easy-to-launch virtual tokens and currencies. A token holder, just like a shareholder, has certain rights. At this point, the US Securities and Exchange Commission, in its struggle to regulate the cryptocurrency market and ICOs, adopted provisions, stating that if tokens confirmed rights to receive goods or services (utility tokens similar to ordinary discount coupons), they were not subject to stock market regulations. However, if tokens provided rights to participate in the distribution of company’s profits or could be traded on cryptocurrency exchanges in order to get profits, SEC treated them as securities, and therefore, state regulation of stock market applied. ICO uses tools similar to IPO, but on the blockchain technology, which is supposed to make this process more accessible, open and secure. However, the actual lack of regulation can increase the risk of fraud.

6. What can happen to ICOs in the future?

Today a successful ICO requires huge investments in development, marketing and advertising, legal support, etc. When the crypto-euphoria of the first years of ICO-campaigns passed, the companies began to wonder, whether they really need an ICO to attract investment. One of notable examples is a sensational “ICO” of Telegram. In fact, it is probably better to use a neutral term “tokensale”, as this is not actually a classic ICO. The sale of tokens is private and general public has no opportunity to join it. Telegram aims to collect large investments from large investors instead.

Anyway, the ICO market is not the same as it used to be in 2016-2017. Obviously, it will continue to change. There won’t be hundreds of different projects holding their initial coin offerings, ICO-campaigns will become more regulated and companies will try to advance their campaigns in terms of legal framework and mechanisms of collective investment so as to make it really transparent. The market in general is likely to reduce in size and become more professional.

Subscribe to The Coin Shark news in Twitter: https://twitter.com/the_coinshark