تلقى قراصنة أكثر من مليون دولار فدية من جامعة كاليفورنيا

المهاجمون الذين تمكنوا من اقتحام النظام الأمني ​​بجامعة كاليفورنيا حصلوا على ما أرادوا: لقد حصلوا على فدية قدرها 1.14 مليون دولار ، وظهرت المعلومات ذات الصلة على الموقع الرسمي للجامعة.

ماذا حدث؟

قام تروجان المقدم بتشفير المعلومات الموجودة على خوادم الجامعة. وبعبارة أخرى ، لم يتمكن موظفو المؤسسة التعليمية من الوصول إليها. من أجل حل هذه المشكلة ، وافقت إدارة جامعة كاليفورنيا على دفع فدية قدرها 116.4 BTC.

"إن البيانات المشفرة مهمة للعمل الأكاديمي الذي نقوم به ، كجامعة ، لصالح المجتمع. لذلك ، اتخذنا قرارًا صعبًا - بدفع جزء من الفدية ، حوالي 1.14 مليون دولار ، إلى الأشخاص الذين يقفون وراء هجوم البرامج الضارة مقابل أداة لفتح المعلومات المشفرة "، قال ممثلو جامعة كاليفورنيا.

هاكر للتجارة

تم تنظيم هجوم القراصنة هذا من قبل مجموعة القراصنة Netwalker. في البداية ، طالب المهاجمون بفدية قدرها 3 ملايين دولار ، لكن ممثلي الجامعة كانوا على استعداد لدفع 780 ألف دولار فقط. وبعد مرور بعض الوقت من عملية التفاوض ، حدد الطرفان مبلغ 1.14 مليون دولار

معلومات قيمة

لم يحدد ممثلو الجامعة البيانات التي تم تشفيرها بالضبط ، لكنهم أضافوا لاحقًا أن المعلومات السرية للمريض لم تتعرض للخطر.

تذكر أن هذه المجموعة من المتسللين هاجمت بالفعل جامعة ميشيغان ، لكن قيادتها رفضت دفع الفدية.

The University of California Pays Hackers  More Than $1 Million Ransom

The attackers who broke into the security system of the University of California got what they wanted: they were paid a ransom of $1.14 million, the official website of the university informs.

What happened?

The introduced trojan encrypted the information on the university’s servers. In other words, the staff of the educational institution could not access it. To solve this problem, the University of California management agreed to pay a ransom of 116.4 BTC.

«The data that was encrypted is important to some of the academic work we pursue as a university serving the public good. We therefore made the difficult decision to pay some portion of the ransom, approximately $1.14 million, to the individuals behind the malware attack in exchange for a tool to unlock the encrypted data and the return of the data they obtained» – representatives of the University of California said.

Negotiation with hackers

The hacker group Netwalker is behind the attack. Initially, the attackers demanded a ransom of $3 million, but university representatives were ready to pay only $780 thousand. After negotiation, the parties set the amount of $1.14 million.

Valuable information

University representatives did not specify which data was encrypted but later said that the patient’s confidential information was not compromised.

Recall, this group of hackers attacked the University of Michigan in early June, but its leadership refused to pay the ransom.

Read more:
Big scam: PlusToken withdrew almost $200 million to an anonymous wallet
The Telegram Users' Confidential Information Appeared On The Darknet
Hackers again broke Lion security system and extort $ 800 million

Follow Us in Social Media: LinkedIn | Twitter | Telegram | Facebook