印度政府将加密货币定义为交易所商品

在与印度加密货币交易所WazirX的代表举行的会议上,印度经济部前秘书Subhash Chandra Garg谈到了监管作为交易商品的加密货币的必要性。

印度的加密货币禁令

去年,Subhash Chandra Garg正在制定一项法案,禁止在该国使用加密货币。违反者将面临最高10年的监禁和330万美元的罚款。

当地的加密爱好者非常担心这项法律的工作,因此该官员决定与加密货币社区对话。正如Garg所解释的那样,计划中的法律并不意味着完全禁止使用加密货币。

加密货币是商品

据这位官员称,加密货币可以用作交易所商品,但不能用作货币。因此,应当以投资者可投资的计算机代码形式对数字资产进行监管。但是仍然计划禁止所有匿名加密货币。

官方承认区块链的好处

Subhash Chandra Garg认为加密货币是一种绝望的技术,几乎不可能在所有人群中真正普及。但是,这位前秘书指出,分布式分类帐技术本身在金融行业中具有巨大的潜力。

Indian government will define cryptocurrencies as exchange commodities

During a conference with a representative of the Indian cryptocurrency exchange WazirX, the former secretary of the Indian Economic Department, Subhash Chandra Garg, spoke about the need to regulate cryptocurrencies as exchange commodities.

Cryptocurrency Ban Law in India

Last year, Subhash Chandra Garg was working on a bill to ban the use of cryptocurrencies in the country. Violators faced a prison sentence of up to 10 years and a fine of up to US $ 3.3 million.

Local crypto enthusiasts were very worried about the work on this law, so the official decided to talk to the crypto community. As Garg explained, the planned law did not imply a complete ban on the use of cryptocurrencies.

Cryptocurrencies are commodities

According to the official, cryptocurrencies can be used as exchange commodities, but not as currencies. Consequently, a digital asset in the form of a computer code, in which money is invested, should be regulated on a par with exchange commodities. But all anonymous cryptocurrencies are still planned to be banned.

Official acknowledged the benefits of blockchain

Subhash Chandra Garg considers cryptocurrencies to be a hopeless technology that has little chance of becoming truly popular among all segments of the population. However, the former secretary noted that blockchain technology itself has great potential for use in the financial industry