警告! 一名黑客將300,000個Ledger用戶的數據洩露到了網絡上

一名黑客將300,000個Ledger用戶的數據洩露到了網絡上。公司面臨集體訴訟。社區指責Ledger硬件錢包開發人員的個人數據安全性不足

提醒一下,在2020年6月,一名黑客入侵了Ledger數據庫。最近,所有用戶的個人信息都在網絡上發布。現在,受害者正通過集體訴訟起訴該公司。

最初,正如Ledger的代表在夏季宣布的那樣,用於存儲加密貨幣的9500個硬件錢包所有者受到了損害。但是,根據黑客網站上發布的數據判斷,受害者的實際人數約為30萬人。

Twitter上對此問題進行了激烈的討論。哈德遜洛克(Hudson Rock)網絡安全官員阿隆加拉(Alon Gala)表示,六月份攻擊萊傑(Ledger)的黑客已經洩漏了整個數據庫。

結果,以下內容出現在網絡上:

  • 1,075,382個電子郵件通訊訂閱者;
  • 272 853個電子錢包客戶的電子郵件地址,居住地址和電話號碼。

據專家說,洩漏對清單上的每個人都構成了危險。 Ledger通常會存儲大量資金,現在,攻擊者可以在網上和線下追捕其所有者。

Ledger員工在其帳戶中確認,從初始數據來看,Internet上發布的列表確實與6月份被盜的數據有關。

而且,眾所周知,數據庫已經遍布黑客論壇,攻擊者開始攻擊硬件錢包的用戶:

  • 垃圾郵件氾濫;
  • 發送電子郵件,要求從可疑來源下載新軟件;
  • 他們代表Ledger提供密碼短語或將比特幣轉移到另一個地址。

自6月以來,該公司一直在與執法機構積極合作,以起訴欺詐者。自黑客入侵以來,總共已阻止了170多種網絡釣魚資源。

現在,錢包用戶之間的不滿情緒已經大大增加,以至於Twitter上的一些人正在寫他們準備支持針對Ledger的集體訴訟。

原因很簡單。由於黑客攻擊,用戶擔心他們的比特幣甚至生命。社會上有傳聞說,被綁架的可能性很高,就像一月份新加坡企業家馬克·鄭那樣。

人們感到困惑,只是不知道該怎麼辦。許多網絡安全專業人員都提供了幫助,以最大程度地降低風險和提高安全性。

例如,今天太平洋標準時間(PST)/ 20 UTC,今天下午12點,YouTube上的廣播開始了,暱稱是Aantonop。即使您的信息沒有受到破壞,您也可以看到如何使其更加安全。

有關事件的更多信息

Bug Bounty Ledger研究人員於7月14日發現了該數據庫漏洞。 Ledger開發人員迅速做出反應並予以消除。但是,事實證明,在6月25日的黑客攻擊中,硬件錢包客戶的個人信息,訂單列表和電子郵件被盜。

使用API​​密鑰訪問數據庫。付款信息,密碼和用戶資金不受影響。儘管萊傑(Ledger)聲稱比特幣的安全性是安全的,但現在顯然情況比最初想像的要糟得多。

作為調查的結果,該公司於7月17日向CNIL提交了一份報告,四天后,它利用Orange Cyber​​defense的幫助來評估數據洩露造成的損失。但是,沒有證據表明被盜數據正在互聯網上出售。以及對受害者的網絡釣魚攻擊。

一點歷史

提醒一下,這不是Ledger網絡攻擊的第一次。該公司已將硬件錢包定位為不能被黑客入侵的超級安全錢包。 2018年,一名15歲的青少年在博客上發布了他如何破解Ledger Nano S模型的信息。

沒錯,這是關於可以在eBay上購買的二手錢包。從視頻中可以看到,對硬件進行了一定的修改後,很容易生成一個新的錢包地址,其中包含解密者已知的訪問密碼。然後將數據複製到另一個硬件錢包,還原私鑰,並撤回加密貨幣。

有趣的是,在黑客入侵之前,Ledger的代表表示,用戶可以購買用過的錢包,而不必擔心資金的安全性。

在年輕黑客的博客上發布數據後,Ledger的代表通過升級固件修復了該錯誤。儘管如此,錢包的使用者仍然有不愉快的回味。

公司將錢包定位為100%安全。每套帶有用於加密貨幣的硬件錢包的套裝都有一個特別的傳單,上面有說明。

事實證明並非如此。在本週事件的背景下,很清楚為什麼受害者社區即將提起訴訟...

WARNING! A hacker leaked data on 300,000 Ledger users to the network

A hacker leaked data on 300,000 Ledger users to the network. Companies face class-action lawsuits. Community Accuses Ledger Hardware Wallet Developers For Insufficient Personal Data Security

As a reminder, in June 2020, a hacker hacked into the Ledger database. And recently, the personal of all users were published on the network. And now the victims are threatening the company with a class action lawsuit.

At first, as the representatives of Ledger announced in the summer, 9,500 owners of hardware wallets for storing cryptocurrency were compromised. However, the real number of victims, judging by the data published on hacker websites, is about 300 thousand people.

There is a heated discussion of this issue on Twitter. Alon Gala, a cybersecurity officer at Hudson Rock, said the hacker who attacked Ledger in June had leaked the entire database.

As a result, the following appeared on the network:

  • 1,075,382 email newsletter subscribers;
  • 272 853 email addresses, residence addresses and phone numbers of customers of wallets.

The leak, according to the specialist, poses a danger to everyone on the list. Large amounts of money are usually stored with Ledger, and now their owners can be pursued by attackers both online and offline.

In their account, Ledger employees confirmed that, judging by the initial data, the list published on the Internet really concerns the data stolen in June.

Moreover, as it became known, the database had already spread across hacker forums, and attackers began to assail the users of the hardware wallet:

  • inundated with spam;
  • send emails with a request to download new software from dubious sources;
  • on behalf of Ledger, they are asked to provide a passphrase or transfer bitcoins to another address.

Since June, the company has been actively working with law enforcement agencies to prosecute fraudsters. In total, over 170 phishing resources have been blocked since the hack.

Now the level of discontent among users of the wallet has increased so much that some on Twitter are writing about their readiness to support a class action lawsuit against Ledger.

The reason is simple. Due to the hack, users fear for their bitcoins and even their lives. There are rumors in the community that there is a high likelihood of being kidnapped, as happened to Singaporean entrepreneur Mark Cheng in January.

People are confused and just don't know what to do. Many cybersecurity professionals offer their help to minimize risks and maximize security.

For example, today at 12 PM PST / 20 UTC, a broadcast on YouTube from a well-known popularizer of blockchain technologies with the nickname Aantonop starts. And even if your information hasn't been compromised, you can see how to make it even more secure.

More about the incident

The database vulnerability was discovered by a Bug Bounty Ledger researcher on July 14. The Ledger developers reacted quickly and eliminated it. However, it turned out that on June 25, during the hack, personal information, order lists and e-mails of hardware wallet customers were stolen.

The database was accessed using an API key. Payment information, passwords and user funds were not affected. Despite Ledger's claim that the security of bitcoins is safe, it is now clear that the situation is much worse than initially thought.

Following the investigation, the company filed a report with CNIL on July 17, and four days later used Orange Cyberdefense's help to assess the damage from data breaches. However, no evidence was found that the stolen data was being sold on the Internet. As well as phishing attacks on victims.

A bit of history

As a reminder, this is not the first time a Ledger cyberattack has occurred. The company has positioned the hardware wallet as a super secured wallet that cannot be hacked. In 2018, a 15-year-old teenager posted on a blog how he hacked a Ledger Nano S model.

True, it was a used wallet that can be bought on eBay. As you can see from the video, with a certain modification for the hardware, a new wallet address with access passwords known to the cracker is easily generated. The data is then copied to another hardware wallet, private keys are restored, and the cryptocurrency is withdrawn.

Interestingly, before this hack, Ledger representatives stated that users can buy used wallets without fear of the safety of funds.

After the publication of the data on the young hacker's blog, Ledger representatives fixed the bug by upgrading the firmware. Nevertheless, the users of the wallet still have an unpleasant aftertaste.

The company positions the wallet as 100% secure. Each set with a hardware wallet for cryptocurrency has a special flyer with an indication of this.

As it turned out, this is not the case. And against the backdrop of this week's events, it is clear why the community of victims is on the verge of filing a lawsuit ...