加密貨幣和洗錢

我们不断听到很多关于加密货币的批评。我们听说加密货币被用于非法,犯罪活动中,用于洗钱,逃税,武器,毒品甚至人类物品。我们可以无休止地列出它。

罗斯·威廉·乌尔布赖特(Ross William Ulbright)是数字暗网市场的创造者,网络海盗,网络恐怖分子,他们创造了一种丝绸之路。允许用户获取从毒品到武器的各种犯罪手段。这项创新引起了全世界的关注。比特币及其类似物已经有可能用于洗钱和其他犯罪计划。

自金融危机以来,数十起骚扰已针对洗钱者。大量银行,金融机构,空壳公司和离岸组织继续存在,并在洗钱和逃税活动中发挥着关键作用。

对世界上一些最大和最著名的金融机构的监管罚款未能阻止资金外流和影子活动。一家大型跨国银行的总顾问认为,该银行在考虑此类交易时考虑了监管机构的罚款风险

只要交易的利润超过罚金,它就或多或少是好的。

根据联合国毒品和犯罪问题办公室的数据,每年可疑交易额仍为2万亿美元。加密货币的总市值为1200亿美元。

因此,尽管加密货币因洗钱而臭名昭著,但也许是时候将我们的注意力转向全球货币自助洗衣店的真正支持者。

以下是过去二十年来最大的洗钱丑闻清单。

  • 渣打银行(英国)

2012年,该银行因违反美国与伊朗开展业务的制裁而支付了6.67亿美元的罚款。两年后,在创纪录的罚款之后,纽约州又因放宽了对洗钱活动的控制,对该银行处以3亿美元的罚款。

  • 汇丰银行(英国)

根据2012年与美国政府的延期起诉协议,该银行因未能控制超过6700亿美元的墨西哥汇款和超过94亿美元的罚款而被处以惊人的19亿美元罚款。以美元表示的购买交易。

  • ING银行(荷兰)

2018年,荷兰银行被荷兰监管机构罚款9亿美元。该银行承认存在严重缺陷,因为它无法阻止向乌兹别克斯坦政府官员拥有的公司VimpelCom非法付款。

  • 丹麦银行(丹麦)

去年9月,丹麦银行承认,尽管举报人和监管机构发出警告,但9年后,仍有约2000亿欧元的潜在非法资金流经爱沙尼亚部门。爱沙尼亚,丹麦和美国的调查正在进行中。

  • 德意志银行(德国)

2017年,美国和英国当局通过其莫斯科办事处的一系列镜像交易对德国一家银行罚款6.7亿美元。通过这些交易,俄罗斯人可以使用卢布在俄罗斯购买股票,然后在伦敦以美元或欧元出售它们,从而将数十亿美元转移到国外。

  • 德国商业银行

另一家主要德国银行也因处理2002年至2008年期间针对伊朗和苏丹组织的超过2500亿美元的交易而受到创纪录的14.5亿美元的罚款。

  • 摩根大通(美国)

美国银行业巨人摩根大通(JPMorgan Chase)成立已有15年,在伯纳德·麦道夫(Bernard Madoff)的庞氏骗局和华尔街金融家的领导下,一直使用他的账户与该银行进行交易。自2014年以来,他们一直在美国法院无视红旗交易。这是最大的庞氏骗局,金额达650亿美元。

  • 花旗集团(美国)

该银行在不加监督的情况下处理了超过88亿美元的交易,被罚款2.37亿美元。

  • 美联银行(美国)

弗吉尼亚州夏洛特市的一家银行被罚款1.6亿美元,原因是该公司发现墨西哥贩毒集团利用该银行的账户为其企业提供资金和洗钱。

  • 自由储备银行(哥斯达黎加)

这个数字货币平台在2016年的60亿美元洗钱活动中发挥了关键作用,美国当局因通过该哥斯达黎加平台经营公司而判处其创始人Artur Budovsky入狱20年。洗钱业务。

尽管这些只是过去20年中最大的洗钱丑闻之一。

只要犯罪活动存在并继续存在,对金融服务的需求就会不断增长,以从这些非法收集的资金中创收。

毫无疑问,加密货币为洗钱提供了巨大的机会,但这不是第一种,也不是唯一的方法。

Cryptocurrency and Money Laundry

We constantly hear a lot of criticism about cryptocurrency. We hear that cryptocurrency is used in illegal, criminal activities for money laundering, tax evasion, arms, drugs and even human goods. We can list it endlessly.

Ross William Ulbright is the creator of the digital darknet marketplace, cyber pirate, cyber terrorist who created a kind of Silk Road. Allowing users to acquire all forms of criminal instruments from drugs to weapons. This innovation has caught the attention of the whole world. Bitcoin and its analogues have become possible to be used for money laundering and other criminal schemes.

After the financial crisis, dozens of prosecutions have targeted money launderers. A large number of banks, financial institutions, shell companies and offshore organizations continue to exist and play a critical role in money laundering and tax evasion operations.

Regulatory fines for some of the largest and most prominent financial institutions in the world fail to prevent money outflow and shadow activity. According to the general counsel of a large multinational bank, the bank took into account the risk of fines from regulators when considering such transactions .

As long as the profit on the trade exceeds the penalty, it is more or less good

According to the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime, the volume of suspicious transactions still stands at $ 2 trillion per year. With a total market value of cryptocurrencies of $ 120 billion.

So while cryptocurrencies are notorious for money laundering, it might be time to turn our attention to the true patrons of global currency laundromats.

Below is a list of the biggest money laundering scandals of the past two decades.

  • Standard Chartered Bank (UK)

In 2012, the bank paid a $ 667 million fine for violating U.S. sanctions on doing business with Iran. Two years later, after a record fine, New York State imposed an additional $ 300 million fine on the bank due to lax money laundering controls.

  • HSBC Bank (UK)

Under a 2012 deferred prosecution agreement with the US government, the bank was fined a staggering $ 1.9 billion for failing to control over $ 670 billion in Mexican remittances and over $ 9.4 billion. US dollars in purchase transactions in US dollars.

  • ING Bank (Netherlands)

In 2018, the Dutch bank was fined $ 900 million by the Dutch regulator. The bank acknowledged that it was seriously flawed in that it was unable to prevent illegal payments to VimpelCom, a company owned by an Uzbek government official.

  • Danske Bank (Denmark)

Last September, Danske bank admitted that nine years later, despite warnings from whistleblowers and regulators, about 200 billion euros of potentially illegal funds were still flowing through its Estonian sector. Investigations are ongoing in Estonia, Denmark and the United States.

  • Deutsche Bank (Germany)

In 2017, the US and UK authorities fined a German bank $ 670 million for a series of mirror transactions through its Moscow office. Through these transactions, Russians can use rubles to buy shares in Russia and then sell them in London for dollars or euros, thus transferring billions of dollars abroad.

  • Commerzbank (Germany)

Another major German bank was also fined a record $ 1.45 billion for processing more than $ 250 billion in transactions for Iranian and Sudanese organizations between 2002 and 2008.

  • JPMorgan Chase (США)

US banking giant JPMorgan Chase has been around for 15 years and has been using his account to deal with the bank under the leadership of Bernard Madoff's Ponzi scheme and Wall Street financiers, who since 2014 have deliberately ignored red flag transactions in US courts. This is the largest Ponzi scheme at $ 65 billion.

  • Citigroup (USA)

The bank processed more than $ 8.8 billion in transactions with little oversight and was fined $ 237 million.

  • Wachovia Bank (USA)

A bank in Charlotte, Virginia was fined $ 160 million after it was discovered that Mexican drug cartels were using the bank's accounts to fund their businesses and launder money.

  • Free Reserve Bank (Costa Rica)

This digital currency platform played a key role in a $ 6 billion money laundering operation in 2016, and the US authorities sentenced its founder, Artur Budovsky, to 20 years in prison for running the company through this Costa Rican platform. Money laundering business.

Although these are just some of the biggest money laundering scandals in the last 20 years.

As long as criminal activity exists and continues to exist, there will be a continued demand for financial services to generate income from these illicitly collected funds.

Cryptocurrency undoubtedly provides tremendous opportunities for money laundering, but this is not the first and not the only way.