紐約州長呼籲禁止在發電廠採礦

在紐約州經營的商人、工會和其他組織呼籲當局阻止將化石燃料發電廠改造成用於挖掘數字貨幣的數據中心。

在他們的集體信中,環保主義者要求紐約州州長凱蒂霍庫爾對使用工作量證明算法生產貨幣的採礦中心進行環境審查。此外,他們還要求禁止 Greenidge 和 Fortistar North Tonawanda 的“轉型”成為提取加密貨幣的中心。

在信中,組織和商人指出,工作量證明使用過多的電力為生產數字貨幣的裝置供電。隨著這些能力的提高,它們可能對自然產生破壞性影響,並阻止該州實現其先前根據《氣候領導法》設定的“氣候目標”。

作為 Greenidge 不法行為的證據,這封信的作者引用了紐約專員 Basil Seggos 的話,即將 Greenidge 變成採礦中心的願望違反了該州的氣候法。今天,Greenidge Generation 控制著位於塞內卡湖岸邊的一座一度暫停的工廠,其發電量為 44 兆瓦,可為 15,300 台服務器供電,並為紐約市電網提供額外電力。

那些堅持支持加密貨幣觀點的人認為,該工廠的行為是為了市民的利益。耶茨縣主席道格拉斯·帕多克 (Douglas Paddock) 宣布,Greenidge 能夠提供 45 個高薪工作崗位,並提到他們通過納稅和對新行業的投資為該地區的整體發展做出了重大貢獻。

與此同時,Greenidge 的經理在 9 月底透露,他們在三個月內成功開采了 279 個比特幣。以目前 Huobi 的匯率計算,這個金額幾乎是1700萬美元。為了生產加密貨幣,該工廠使用了其 58% 的產能。

Greenidge 經理還指出,他們的設備是 100% 碳中和的,這要歸功於以項目形式支付的排放貨幣補償,以從當地垃圾填埋場和森林保護計劃中捕獲甲烷。

目前尚不清楚該州州長將在這場爭端中站在哪一邊,但我們將密切關注事態發展。

Hive OS是用于控制、监控和管理您的矿场和矿池的一站式解决方案。

订阅我们的TelegramTwitterFacebook,成为第一个了解加密货币新闻的人!

CoinShark 不对网站上发布的内容、准确性、质量、广告、产品或任何其他内容负责。本文是基于公开来源的材料和信息编写的,仅供参考。加密货币是一种风险资产,投资它可能会导致损失。用户应在采取任何行动之前自行研究。

Bitsler Casino

The Governor of New York called to ban mining at power plants

Businessmen, labor unions, and representatives of other organizations operating in the territory of New York State have called on the authorities to prevent the transformation of fossil fuel power plants into data centers for mining digital currencies.

In their collective letter, environmentalists asked New York Governor Katie Hawkul to conduct an environmental review of mining centers that produce currencies with the Proof-of-Work algorithm. In addition, they are asking to ban the "transformation" of Greenidge and Fortistar North Tonawanda into centers for the extraction of cryptocurrencies.

In the letter, organizations and businessmen noted that Proof-of-Work uses excessive amounts of electricity to power installations that mine digital currencies. As these capacities increase, they can have a devastating impact on nature and prevent the state from achieving its previously set “climate targets” under the Climate Leadership Act.

As evidence of Greenidge's wrongdoing, the authors of the letter cited the words of New York Commissioner Basil Seggos that the aspirations to turn Greenidge into a mining center are contrary to the state's climate laws. Today, Greenidge Generation controls the once-suspended plant on the shores of Lake Seneca, generating 44 megawatts to power 15,300 servers and additional power to the New York City grid.

Those who adhere to pro-cryptocurrency views argue that the plant's actions are for the benefit of the townspeople. Yates County Chairman Douglas Paddock announced the creation of 45 high-paying jobs that Greenidge is able to provide, and also mentioned their significant contribution to the overall development of the region through tax payments and investments in the new industry.

Meanwhile, Greenidge managers revealed at the end of September that they managed to mine 279 Bitcoins in three months. At the current exchange rate on the Huobi exchange, this amount is almost $17 million. For the production of cryptocurrencies, the plant uses 58% of its capacity.

Greenidge managers also noted that their devices are 100% carbon neutral, thanks to the payment of monetary compensation for emissions in the form of projects to capture methane from local landfills and forest conservation programs.

It is not yet known which side in this dispute the governor of the state will take, but we will closely monitor the development of the situation.

Hive OS  is a one-stop solution for control, monitoring, administration of your mining farms and mining pool.

Subscribe to our  Telegram  ,  Twitter  and  Facebook  to be the first to know about cryptocurrency news!

Coin Shark is not responsible for the content, accuracy, quality, advertising, products or any other content posted on the site. This article is for informational purposes, prepared on the basis of materials and information from open sources. Cryptocurrency is a risky asset, investments in it can lead to losses. Users should do their own research before taking any action.